One Minute Please!

One Minute Please panel with Roy Plomley

This predecessor of 'Just a Minute' was devised by Ian Messiter and ran on radio for several years. There were six panelists, three of either sex with Roy Plomley as the chairman.

Panelists who excelled were Kenneth Horne, Valerie Hobson, Gilbert Harding, Yvonne Arnaud, Margot Holden, Jack Sherry and the inimitable Gerard Hoffnung. Ian Messiter used to hold auditions for guests and he discovered the fast talking Sherry and the deftly concealed intellect of Margot Holden.

Rules of the game were very similar to Just A Minute.

A bit of trivia: Frank Muir was invited on the show but found the rules too restrictive for comedy.

Return to the Radio Days Homepage

If you have any comments, questions or further information of interest, please e-mail: