Piano Concerto
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra / Álvaro Cassuto
Naxos 8.573903

Symphonic Overtures 1 & 2; Pastoral; Romance; Symphonic Prelude; Intermezzo; Viver ou Morrer Prelude; Piano Concerto.

Imagine a delicious cross between George Lloyd and Ottorino Respighi, with huge orchestral colours mixed into delightful expansive tunes and you have the very essence of Braga Santos, the best known composer to emerge from Portugal.

These world premiere recordings will please all lovers of good tuneful melody and are highly recommended, as indeed are all his previous Naxos symphonies. Nothing dull here - terrific stuff!

© Peter Worsley 2018

Back to Reviews Page

Back to Home Page